h1

6 years of blogging

September 17, 2010

I am not really sure what to think of this fact, but today marks 6 years of typing random little tidbits and sending it out to random sets of eyes.  I am not sure how else to describe the act of blogging and I continue to have a mix of affection and chagrin for this blog.  I don’t tend to blog as much as I used to (or at least as much as I did back in October 2004 when my “21 picture posts celebration” of my 21st birthday pushed my total number of posts to 56). Looking back, I am not entirely sure of my original reasons for starting a blog, I know was hugely influenced by my good friends Steph and Katie.  As for why I keep writing this thing, here are my main 6 reasons:

  • Despite how many of my posts end up being lots of photos and a few words as description, I like how this practice does keep my writing.  Even if most of that writing is never proofread, tends to ramble, and utilize bullet-point lists all too frequently.
  • From Mirabella in Australia, to both the Emilys’ in Colorado (although one of them will very soon be transplanting to California!); from random relatives (some with their own blogs and some without), to my old MYF leader; from friends far and wide to my own lovely parents, to you random reader of this post – having an audience for this quasi-journal does help motivate me to keep posting.  And I love all your comments, nothing makes me feel less like a slightly puffed up me-me-me blogger rambling into the void, than when people say hello (hint hint hint).
  • Blogging inspires me to do things like this (click to see my mad animated gif skills):

  • While, I tend to write on this blog in chatty email fashion and less in private journal mode (I stick pretty strongly to the rule of “never write something I wouldn’t say to someone’s face”), it is a great record of my past.  The other day I started reading through bits and pieces of my archive and I was struck by just how much of myself and my own experience I have managed to record here.  Sure there are lots of holes and much that I hold back, but this blog actually does a decent job of reflecting my own thoughts and personality back at me.
  • Sometimes I just need a place to post random links and poems I find around the internet.
  • And finally my last reason is because once you do something for 6 years, sometimes it seems right to just keep on keeping on 🙂

Over the next few days I hope to bring a few other lists of 6 including new music, books I read this year, photos, posts, etc.  This of course is not intended in the biblical associations of 6, but merely a nod to how long I’ve been bumming around this ole blog.

8 comments

  1. That’s a milestone! Not everyone can keep blogging for that long. Congratulations!


  2. Yay! Congrats on 6 years of blogging! So honored to get a mention in your post. 🙂 I’ve been blogging in one form or another since (I think) junior year of high school, which means it’s 8 years this year for me. Sheesh!


    • Wow, 8 years, so cool! and I want to say thanks for all your comments, it has been so fun connecting with you on the blogosphere 🙂


  3. Unlike you I read only one blog regularly – yours. Occasionally they make me catch my breath and sometimes laugh out loud.
    Looking forward to the next 6 years!


    • Awe thanks Dad, while some people might be bothered that their parents read their blog, I love it that you and Mom do! 🙂


  4. Also, you’re very good at it! Just think of all the ways available to us now to reveal the mysteries and movement of our lives, and how we can find an existence way beyond our immedicate family, friends and locale. Have you read a novel called “Fly Away Peter” by David Malouf? Its theme is the reality and importance of the individual life in itself rather than in its teleological meaning.

    There is considerable interest here in Oprah’s coming visit (to the Sydney Opera House…!). The topic is almost as hot as our football grand final next Saturday. After our political upheavals over the last three months (a coup, a new female prime minister and an election leading to a hung parliament), it’s comforting to return to more homely matters.

    Keep blogging!


    • Mirabella, thanks for the recommendation, I haven’t heard of that, but it sounds great!
      You have had a crazy 3 months in Australia, I hope your coming summer is a smoother one 🙂



Leave a Reply

