h1

in which I throw lots of links at you in a vain attempt to make up for not posting for the past whatever

January 10, 2008

So hello 2008, I am not sure where you came from (probably the same place that 2013 is sitting waiting to blow my mind, hello 30!). You seem to be a rather quiet year so far, but I am sure that won’t last. Supposedly you are the year where I will radically change my life, become perfect, apply to grad school, date fabulous men and win the lottery, but that may just be a pipe dream. But you have already shown some promise in that you will always be remembered (or at least for the next 5 years) as the year in which we got new date stamps in the library.

Just in case you haven’t had enough of 2007 yet, or perhaps you just love to look at exotic, intense, evocative pictures. Check out Reuters pictures of the year, they offer quite a range, but each one made me wish I actually knew what I was doing with my fancy-ass camera. http://www.reuters.com/news/pictures/slideshow?collectionId=1067#a=1

Or maybe you are looking for a way to feel better about all the ways in which you screwed up last year (or have already this year). Go check out this list of major typos/mistypes/bad reporting/editing here. Quite a cheerful list. http://www.regrettheerror.com/regret-articles/crunks-07-the-year-in-media-errors-and-corrections

Basically this is a link that lets you see a video of older Chinese women doing hip hop dancing. Need I say more. http://www.neatorama.com/2007/12/17/hip-hop-grannies/

This one is for my dad, who likes to see pictures of outer space. Also a good place to go when you are feeling just a little bit too significant. http://www.neatorama.com/2007/12/18/astronomy-pictures-of-the-year/

Are you a nerdy magician or wish you were one. Okay then, go here. http://sclipo.com/video/how-to-do-the-old-tablecloth-trick

This one is probably just for me, but if you have watched Battlestar Galactica (the new version) you will probably also get some amusement out of these pseudo propaganda posters. http://www.quantummechanix.com/HowToSpotaCylon.html

Were you breathing during some point in 2007 and are you currently literate, go here. http://www.miamiherald.com/dave_barry/story/359826.html
“Upon taking power, the Democrats, who campaigned vigorously against the war in Iraq, and who hailed their victory as a clear voter mandate to get the troops out of Iraq, immediately get down to the business of being careful to not do anything that might actually result in the removal of troops from Iraq, in case that might turn out to be a bad idea. This is fine with President Bush, who calls for a ”troop surge,” based on his understanding of the comprehensive Iraq Study Group Report, as interpreted for him by aides equipped with 20,000 G.I. Joe action figures.”

Do you currently have a tattoo on your back. Do you like to tan? Do you check your email constantly? Do you have trouble remembering your 17 different passwords? This article will give you the perfect word to describe your plight. http://www.reuters.com/article/oddlyEnoughNews/idUSN1063973920080110?feedType=RSS&feedName=oddlyEnoughNews

All of these links were found through the following sites BoingBoing, kottke.org, Neatorama, the RSS feed of Reuters Oddly Enough News, and of course random internet browsing that I am just so good at.

9 comments

  1. abby–your first paragraph on this entry made me laugh out loud…and then i had to read it for alana too. good work, and enjoy those new date stamps!


  2. thanks! oh and I actually got to use the date stamps and they were everything I was dreaming of and more 🙂


  3. hey thanks for the hip hop granny link.

    Happy New Year.


  4. “Do you currently have a tattoo on your back? Do you like to tan? Do you check your email constantly?” = me. (well, the tanning thing is more of “I’d rather lay out than play in a pool/ocean with kids”)


  5. this post made me successfully held me off on starting my day for an hour. thanks:)


  6. That Chinese dancer is absolutely hilarious, thanks!


  7. […] trying to think of cool ways to sum up the year 2008 (which according to my tongue in cheek goals from last January was a bit of a failure), I will be doing a list of unknown length* in which I […]


  8. […] I just need a place to post random links and poems I find around the […]


  9. […] January 2008 […]



Leave a Reply

