h1

Catch-up Post*

January 14, 2011

So this past weekend was my long awaited Graduation Day! And wow, did the whole weekend ever live up to my expectations. Of course any time my brother and parents come into town, is a pretty good indication that fun will be had by all. But in addition to that I completed Giant Chapter o’ Life, threw (and enjoyed) a great open house, reunited with one of my favorite (and hilarious!) cousins (twice this year already!), saw a friend from Junior High, ate yummy Thai food with said family and generally had a blast.
Here are some pictures to illustrate said weekend:

The exact moment I received my long awaited (and approximately $30,000) diploma

Sadly enough completing my masters was no help in figuring out how to wear the fancy (and not lime green like I had been led to be believe!) hood.

Jonathan of course had other ideas about how I should wear the hood.

But on the bright side, I also got these nifty sleeves on my robe in which I could store things like graduation programs and kleenex (not for being overcome with emotion, but more to do with a runny nose).

Now both my Mom and I both have Masters and with Charletta getting on board in June, that will be women of my family 3, men of my family 0 (but give Jonathan a few years and he will claim first doctorate of the family).

And of course what is graduation weekend without custom-made pirate eye-patches made out of Jonathan's highly additive magnetic ball kit. It should be noted that I promised my Dad not to post this picture on Facebook, but I figured if I through in an equally goofy one of myself I could get away with posting it here 🙂

*now with pictures!

4 comments

  1. I really enjoyed this post–great pictures! And a big congrats to you (for both finishing your masters and also for posting that picture of you wearing your hood the Jonathan way)!


  2. Congratulations, master! Are the hoods not awesome? I am relieved to find out I wasn’t the only one who had trouble figuring out my hood.


  3. Yea! Well done you!


  4. Congratulations! Graduation ceremonies provide a great opportunity to realise the glory of having achieved so much after all of the sacrifices that serious students inevitably make.



Leave a Reply

