h1

5 things I like

January 4, 2011
  • Despite having to wake up in the dark, by the time I leave for work, the sun is up with lingering sunrise behind it.
  • My family’s professional grade self-portrait
  • Skype
  • Oddly enough, routine.  I think I like to envision myself more as a free spirit who enjoys following random whims, but in the end, returning to a routine (arrival, desk time, break time, circ time, lunch time, class time, shhing time, come home from work time, cooking time, supper time, friend time, bed time) feels like a good thing.  Now if only I could find a way to work from 9 to 4 instead of 8 to 4, I think my world would be rather perfect.
  • My new journal.  But by new journal ,I mean one that Jess was going to throw away and I rescued.  I have never gotten into regular journalling.  Much of my life ends up recorded here and the bigger things end up either staying inside my head or getting hashed out with friends.  However I read this post and got inspired to start a new journal on my own terms.  So far it contains a lot of to-do lists, some notes from a business call and a quote from Tolkien, but I think my new shiny pen is also helping 🙂
8 comments

  1. I’ve heard of people working the 3 – 11 shift. What I would like is to work the 11 – 3 shift.


    • Yes that would be even better!


  2. I heart journals and notebooks like crazy.

    I also love that you’re the only person I know who would schedule “shhing time”. 🙂

    I like creating routines, but I rarely stick to them.


    • Yeah, shhing time is probably my least favorite part of my job, but I still have to do it…..sigh


  3. THANKS so much for inspiring me to start up a journal (by providing that amazing link). I need to buy a journal pad/book soon but hopeuflly I can start by documenting Japan 😀


  4. I also appriciate my schedule. I needed a break, but I was ready to be productive again. Wish I wasn’t QUITE so busy. 🙂
    I’d like to catch up soon. When are you free?


  5. Ooh I’m the same with journals! I always start one and then get distracted seeing as I always feel like I’m busy (too much work or something…) but I’m hoping to change that this year! Hope you can keep it up too! 🙂


  6. One of the things that makes my mornings okay is sitting in silence on the couch, in my pajamas and eating a bowl of cereal as I watch the sky slowly lighten. This happens more often than not.



Leave a Reply

