h1

I may never actually blog about just one thing ever again

May 12, 2010

A fascinating concept gleaned from reading a chapter in a curriculum textbook last night

The major four areas of study in elementary and high school education are science, math, social studies and language art, a fact that I was familiar with prior to my reading for class.  However the author pointed out that their importance is connected to three underlying questions that humans spend most of their lives looking for.  Science and Math, at their core, are searches for truth.  What is factual? What is false? How do these ideas work together to create larger patterns?  Social Studies is the quest for goodness.  What is right and wrong?  How do we evaluate our actions in larger contexts?  And third, Language Arts is the search for beauty.  What resonates with people?  Why do some works last for many years and others not?  How do we define appeal?

So last semester I wrote this paper

Jess reminded me at break today that I really should post my final paper for my Library 2.0 class.  As my long-suffering editor in chief, I figure I should listen to her.  This paper is based on my reading of a book “This Book is Overdue: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All!”, which was a great book for me to read at this point in my library school journey.  Full of inspirational and very very quirky people, the book tells how librarians are doing unusual, but highly valued work all over the world. So if you are interested in reading my paper, you can see the abstract here.  Or read the whole thing through this pdf link:

Exploring Librarian 2.0: How the Work of Librarians is Evolving to Meet Users’ Needs

Happy Belated Mother’s Day

This past weekend, the whole family got together to celebrate two birthdays and Mother’s Day.  Starting with an amazing lasagna meal (made by my Mom) and ending with an afternoon at Chicago Botanic Garden it was a great time.  On Saturday night we ate at this amazing Persian restaurant down on Clark and yammered on for quite a while.  Charletta asked us all a good question, What traits did we get from our mother?  Now at first this was a bit of a difficult question, seeing as I tend to see my DNA as a pretty even blend of my parents.  However with a little thinking, here are a few of my answers.

  • Love of reading – While my Dad likes to read too, he tends to more of the physics books or non-fiction books about the genetic components of religious/spiritual belief.  It is definitely my Mom that gave me my voracious love of books (mainly novels).  So many of the pivotal books of my childhood were connected to her: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, Little House on the Praire, numerous picture books and Little Women.  Also I am pretty sure it is Mom who blessed both Tim and I with the ability to be so absorbed in our books that we could only be pried out of them with shouted offers of money.
  • Creative bent – I am not someone who sees themselves as a writer or an artist, but I have a strong interest in creative pursuit.  Ranging from poetry to photography, I have dabbled in lots of art/writing endeavors over the years and trace this directly to my Mom.  Just in case you didn’t know, my Mom is a talented fraktur artist, which is a form of old style calligraphy and illustration.  While I don’t have the patience fraktur takes, I have always admired this use of my Mom’s creativity.
  • We kind of look alike – In high school I was in the chorus of Fiddler on the Roof, which involved wearing conservative dress and our hair in buns.  According to my aunt, I looked like a carbon copy of my Mom in high school.  See what I mean –
  • Feminist leanings – Growing up I never really thought of my mom as a strong advocate for women, however two stories often remind me of how much I owe her for my strong belief in women’s equality.  The first was when my Mom took a position as Sunday School Superintendent at our conservative Mennonite Church, despite the fact that this was a controversial occurrence and resulted in several members leaving the church.  The second was when our family moved from PA to IN so my Mom could get her Masters at AMBS.  While moving a family half-way across the country to support a woman’s career choices, may not seem that radical, it was pretty influential to 10 year old me.

Also in case you are interested, here are the other photos from the weekend.

True story, my family watched the annual Men in Kilts contest at the Celtic Fair and we totally picked our favorites and everything.

8 comments

  1. Good job you! Thanks for posting ;)And that IS an interesting question regarding personality traits/interests gleaned from the mother…I’ll have to think about that.


  2. men in kilts? men in kilts? how did I not know about this contest?!


  3. Hello! I just found this blog by clicking on ‘good blogs’ or ‘blogs that are good’ or something, and I think you’re awfully clever and you write well.

    Buh bye!


    • Thanks Paula! I am glad you found me and liked my writing, feel free to stick around!


  4. Would a person seek all three of the above, whatever be the degree of seeking?

    Back here, those immersed in Science and Math find Language Arts an anomaly, and vice versa.

    Does it come down to human ability to seek each of the three for a wholesome understanding and appreciation of life.


    • Anil, I think you are write that we are all seeking those things in different ways, I think the various lens of different disciplines just give us different ways of asking questions.
      And thanks for stopping by!


  5. Same as Paula, I stumbled across your blog in a similar way! I find your writing charming, and was particularly interested in the part about your mum, with regard to the Sundays, and how several members left.

    I’m new to wordpress, so hi!


    • Ruthnoakes, Welcome to the world of blogging, it is a weird, but pretty neat world 🙂
      I am glad you enjoy my writing and maybe I will get around to telling more of that story, although it is probably more my Mom’s to tell than mine. Maybe I’ll ask her to guest post.



Leave a Reply

