h1

it’s the most wonderful time of the year

December 7, 2009

You can tell a certain holiday is coming up, when your flickr contact page begins to look themed.

I don’ t know if that is completely true, but I do have to say the season of Advent is one of my favorites.  I have always loved Christmas lights whether they are the all out tacky displays you can find on the country roads around Goshen or the elegant tree lights along Lakeshore drive.  Plus there is Christmas music, which once again I have a taste for both the tacky and the beautiful, for example one of my favorite albums is Amy Grant’s Home for Christmas.  As a child I am pretty sure I almost wore out my family’s tape by listening to over and over again.  Also Advent was also the season I got baptized in, back in 2001, when the season was much darker due to the recent terrorist attacks and subsequent war.  I still remember those church services as some of the most meaningful events for me.

—-

It is amazing how easy it is to not bother blogging when you no longer have the daily compunction to do so.  This past weekend was both exhausting and incredibly non-productive.  I don’t feel comfortable going into details but I ended up doing some mediation between two friends, which left me really sad.  But as I keep telling myself, I volunteered for the task and so it is only fair to take the good with the bad. This exhaustion also led to me not getting a stitch of either paper I need to write this week done, and also being much further along in my watching of Alias season 1.

—-

However in the category of good things this weekend, I am now the proud owner of a Wii Fit Plus Board, which is slightly amusing in that I don’t own a Wii, so what I really own is a fancy scale with no display 🙂  This pretty awesome gift is a result of attending the Nintendo Enthusiast Party hosted by Erini and Rachel at a swanky loft in West Chicago.  I knew going into it was an advertising party aimed at hip young social media users (a category I am pretty sure I don’t fit in), but considering I was in no way required to do anything on this here blog, or even give them the address, I felt pretty comfortable going and accepting the pretty awesome swag.*  And I have to say I had a pretty darn good time, Becca went too and of course Erini was there.  It ended up being a super casual, low pressure lots of fun evening and so I have to say I think Nintendo Enthusiast are doing something right with their marketing, because thanks to their gift of a free Wii Fit (valued at around $100) I am actually considering getting a Wii**.

—-

Another amazing thing from the past few days was getting to attend a Swell Season concert last Thursday, however the awesomeness of that event needs its own post.  Also I should note that these little paragraphs are not intended to actually relate to each other in any way, I am just trying to wean myself off of constant bulleted lists. 🙂

*I should also say I see nothing wrong with people who choose to go down the advertising path, it just isn’t for me or this odd little blog.

**A possible current plan is to go with Becca and purchase one together after selling off one of our Fit Boards, but we will have to wait and see.

2 comments

  1. Glad the two of you got to come!! 🙂

    Also, I vote keep the boards! Seriously. I’ve been doing mine for 3 consecutive days, which is more than any other routine since we had gym daily in middle school.

    I still vote go in together on the Wii, but I my Wii Fit Plus And I’m just not saying that because I was co-hosting. I seriously love it.


  2. Want to sell me the wii fit board?



Leave a Reply

