h1

another nonlinear post, because that is the way I roll

February 18, 2009
Speaking of money and such, this picture is from that one trip where I saved up lots of money and took a ridiculously long trip.  It was worth every penny!

Speaking of money and such, this picture is from that one trip where I saved up lots of money and took a ridiculously long trip. It was worth every penny!

Recently I have been rather concerned about money.  I try to be careful with my money and prefer not to be too concerned about when pay day comes (i.e. have a healthy balance in the ole’ checking account).  However these past two paychecks have been just a little too welcome for me and I was beginning to get a little concerned.  Was I overspending?  Still recovering from the holidays? Living beyond my means?  Until I remembered that in the month of January I paid an almost 1,000 dollar tuition bill (a small fraction of the total due, thank you student loans!), bought a car for $425 and paid over $200 bucks in registration fees.  So maybe that was why my budget was feeling just a little bit tight!

Sometimes I don't wear trousers, I wear jeans and sometimes I go on walks around Evanston with my friends instead of going to work and sometimes I miss those things (ps. photo credit goes to the amazing Erini!)

Sometimes I don't wear trousers, I wear jeans and sometimes I go on walks around Evanston with my friends instead of going to work and sometimes I miss those things (p.s. photo credit goes to the amazing Erini!)

Yesterday I wore my pin stripe light grey trousers, old favorites, only to discover that the lining of my right front pocket had actually developed a hole.  Not a ripped on a desk type, but more a gradual disintegration caused by long use and the wearing of my keys over many days of work.  The repair shouldn’t be too much trouble, just replacing that part of the lining, or even patching it, but the annoying factor was I had to spend the entire day with my keys in my left pocket.  Not a huge issue, except apparently I am a person of routine and the incomprehensible idea that my keys wouldn’t be in my right pocket continued to cause me puzzlement for most of the day.  Alternately when returning them to my pocket I would often be jolted from my automatic behavior with the odd sensation of keys falling down inside my pants to the floor. All of this lead into attempts to determine how long I have owned these trousers and my best estimate is since  early college, back when I decided that I might one day actually need to look semi-professional.

This past weekend my parents and younger brother Jonathan came up to Chicago for a visit. I took Friday off so we could hang out, which inadvertently gave me a 4 day weekend,unfortunately Charletta couldn’t be with us because she was in Florida with her parents. But we did our best to not begrudge her the sun and beach she was undoubtedly enjoying 🙂

This has nothing to do with my family's visit this past weekend, but I realized that probably most of you had missed the many great expressions in this photo taken by Tim mere seconds after Dad received a rather large pair of bright red undies from Tim and Charletta two Christmases ago

This has nothing to do with my family's visit this past weekend, but I realized that probably most of you had missed the many great expressions in this photo taken by Tim mere seconds after Dad received a rather large pair of bright red undies from Tim and Charletta two Christmases ago

Highlights of the weekend include a tour of my school.  I showed my parents and brother all the various parts of the large and rambling school I work in.  I have to admit it was a bit odd to have my family in a place that feels so entirely separate from that world.   But I guess whenever some of the spheres of ones’ life overlap it can easily feel a bit surreal.  We also played a game of Tichu, visited the L.L Bean store, went ice skating at Millennium Park (or in reality Jonathan and Dad went skiing (um I think I meant skating) while Mom and I watched and Tim took a bazillion pictures (which he needs to put on flickr!)), made and ate together cheese and chocolate fondue, learned a new board game called Evo which was actually pretty fun (but in typical fashion I had my first time playing frustrations), and visited the Museum of Science and Industry.

This also has nothing to do with my family's visit, but here is Jonathan on another visit practicing his duplication techniques

This also has nothing to do with my family's visit, but here is Jonathan on another visit practicing his duplication techniques

There my Mom and I went to see an IMAX called Wild Oceans, which was pretty spectacular.  I think it had been a while since I had seen an IMAX because I was amazed to realize that the picture actually took up the entire oversize screen, making the many scenes of flying over ocean cliffs and swimming with dolphins all the more incredible.  All in all it was a total blast and a lovely way to celebrate a weekend that often gets focused only on couples.

3 comments

  1. Skiing on the rink at Millennium Park…like it’s not already too easy to take people down by merely skating around. ;p


  2. Heh. When I headed to Seattle for VS I decided that I might need to look semi-professional. Then I arrived and found out that the combination of Pacific Northwest vibe + tech job + nonprofit organization (not to mention left-leaning Mennonite church) meant I could keep on wearing jeans all the time, and had no use for half the clothes I had brought.

    Now I get by most of the time on just two pairs of pants, one of which was purchased for $8 at Value Village and has seen me through Europe nicely thus far. (The other was probably purchased for like $4 at Goodwill, so we’re talking total of $12 worth of used clothing protecting my nether parts. Somehow that doesn’t seem adequate. Must be time for another trip to Value Village once I return.)


  3. It is really lovely to hear about people doing normal family things. I am trying to imagine what it is like to live in your climate at this time of year with skating and fondue, while it is still so warm here – more high temperatures forecast for next week and still the threat of more bushfires….

    This is the money-spending time of year for me too, between all the annual bills and the realisation that I have several events to attend in the near future which demanded a new outfit (silver skirt and jacket placed on lay-by this morning at a dress shop instead of a department store!). I feel very guilty.



Leave a Reply

