h1

oh boy! another list, how original

February 6, 2009

flightoftheconchords1.  Next April 29th, Wench and I will be seated in the 5th row of the Flight of the Conchords concert in Chicago.  Which probably means I will be restraining Wench from flinging herself on the stage, while simultaneously laughing my head off.  Or maybe I will drink the kool-aid and attempt to persuade them to take me back to New Zealand with them.

agriculture_ast_lrg2.  NPR has this photo of the day thing, which I subscribe too, and today’s link was this.  As a one generation removed farmer, I found the different ways agriculture adapts around the world pretty fascinating.  For example you can see the effect of tiny Middle Ages plots on German farmland and the way the need for irrigation shapes Kansas farms.

groundhog23.  A few weeks ago I re-watched Groundhog day for the first time in years and surprisingly, I liked it much more the second time around.  The first time I watched it, I was just annoyed that the seeming answer to Bill Murray’s character’s predicament was to sleep with the pretty girl.  But the second time around I realized that it was really much more about him learning a new way of looking at life, not just faking being good in order to seduce someone.  Then just a few days ago I stumbled across this article which talks about all the deeper meaning of the film.

afp94.  I am realizing that my fascination with photography is just getting more intense.  So when I saw this set of interviews, I was completely captivated.  Basically Errol Morris got three different photographers to select their favorite 10 images of George W. Bush and then explain why the selected that image.  The article is fascinating, both on a photographic level (I can’t imagine what it would be like to make a living from taking these types of pictures) and a political level.

heart-shaped-biscuits-0015.  As someone who tends to the slightly cynical side of romance and dating, I found this collection of hilarious personal ads from the London Review of Books, brilliant and just one more reason I need to marry a British man.  Here are two examples :

OMG! This magazine is the shizz. Seriously, dudes. Awesome! LOL! Classics lecturer (M, 48). Possibly out of his depth with today’s youth. KTHX! Box no. 2680.

All humans are 99.9% genetically identical, so don’t even think of ending any potential relationship begun here with ‘I just don’t think we have enough in common’. Science has long since proven that I am the man for you (41, likes to be referred to as ‘Wing Commander’ in the bedroom). Box no. 3501.

we_are_all_long6.   Like I mentioned in number 4, photography completely fascinates me.  This site is a 100 meter long photograph of 178 people from the same spot on a railway station.  The photographer stitched the pictures together to create one long seamless glimpse at ordinary German folks going about their days.

HC 3 TINY HOUSE.jpg7.  Do you need a place to live?  Do you like to travel light?  Do you long to live off the grid?  Try this one out – Yale Grad student builds herself a tiny house on a trailer in order to save money on student housing.  I can think of at least a few *cough*Jonathan*cough* future grad students who might do well to read this article 🙂

There you go, 7 things that I thought I should share, that is all now.  You may return back to your daily lives.

5 comments

  1. OMG I’m so freaking excited.


  2. more excited than that one tiny little comment can ever hold or show.


  3. Checked out the personals. Quite funny. Wish there was a way to tell who received replies.


  4. I WANT.

    Flight of the Conchords Tickets.

    And them. Well, really just Jemaine. Brett can be elsewhere.


  5. Rini – I KNOW!
    Jess – Yeah, it is also probably a bit sad that I totally would have responded to a few of them if it was possible 🙂
    Ella – You will totally have to fight Rini for him, I think she has signed a fan girl contract with him and everything. Also you totally know where Brett is, off playing the weirdly good looking Elf in a brief scene in Lord of the Rings 🙂



Leave a Reply

