h1

just because yesterday was not enough for you all

January 29, 2009

Here is another meme!  But this one is pretty darn cool and I have done it once before.  Basically it starts off by reading an interview on another blogger’s site in which they answer questions another blogger posted for them.  Then you chime in with your “Interview me please!” and get to continue the chain on your own blog.  So here are the details:

If you’d like to play along, just follow these instructions:
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the
questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions. Be sure
you link back to the original post.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone
else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five
questions.

But because I don’t want to leave out people who may wish to enjoy the amazing interview experience and don’t have a blog, if interested leave a comment stating your interest in being interviewed and I will interview you right here in these very comments.

Anyways here is the amazing MLE’s 5 questions for me.

1. If you could be instantly whisked to and from anywhere in the world (free, natch), but you could only be there for 24 hours, where would you go and why?

Unlike most people in this world I don’t have a huge interest in traveling to France.  Don’t get me wrong, France sounds like a lovely country and its not like I would say no to a travel opportunity there.  But it just has never been high on my list of go to places.  That all said, I think the idea of spending 24 hours in Paris, sounds slightly magical.  Now obviously the idea of romance in Paris sounds nice, but since I don’t really have that right now, I would love to take some of favorite girl friends with me and we would have Katie as a guide.  We would wander the Louvre for an hour or so, just a quick glimpse and probably a few other wonderful things.  Then find a small cafe and have a cappuccino and talk and giggle for a few hours, probably drawing lots of strange glances from the ultra cool Parisians.  After all that we would wander the city all night long (ala Before Sunrise) and finally exhausted, hop on our free first class flight back to the US.  I think that would be a good way to experience Paris.

2. Have you ever been in love with something that wasn’t a person (idea, place, book, movie, etc.)?

Hmmm, truly in love?  I don’t know about that, but I did really absolutely love the YMCA and small town in Northern Ireland where I lived for a summer.  There is something awfully incredible about places where the mountains meet the sea.  Throw in lots of people with great accents, work that took me out of doors for 75% of the day, kids, fun folks to work with and the luxury of a 50 pound stipend a week just for pints and laughs and I think I may have feel in love just a little bit.  In fact towards the end of my summer there I strongly considered the idea of taking a leave of absence from school for a year and staying at the YMCA for the next year.  They were going to be short on staff and were encouraging of my idea to stay.  But after some more practical thinking and realizing how much I would miss finishing college with all of my friends, and how cold and rainy it got in Northern Ireland for the winter I decided against it.  Although I wouldn’t say I regret that decision, but sometimes, on occasion, I wonder how different my life would be if I had decided to stay there for the year.

3. Do you have any completely bizarre phobias (like my unreasonable fear of the scary inflatable arm waving things at used car dealerships)? (if so, share!)

I can’t think of any really bizarre phobias other than the traditional, spiders, nails on chalkboards, etc.  But I do have this incredible dislike of watching other people being embarrassed.  This mainly comes out in my movie preferences such as I have absolutely no interest in watching the supposedly hilarious Meet the Parents, due to the main theme of the movie being Ben Stiller going through horrendously embarrassing situations over and over again.  And as my former roommates can attest, on occasion while watching TV I will find something just too embarrassing to watch and so have to look away.  So I guess maybe that counts as my slightly bizarre phobia, or at least a pretty weird one.

4. If there was one thing you could change about another person (not yourself), what would you change, who would you change, and why?

Oooh, this is a pretty tricky one.  My first impulse was to read it as a question stating what annoying things would I change about people.  Which leads to a rather dicey area of pointing out what you don’t like about people in a public and totally inappropriate area to do so.  But then I thought about the question a little more and realized I could just change something about someone from neutral to positive or positive to positive.  Anywho, I think I would change my dear friend Becca from unemployed to employed.  Becca is probably one of my oldest friends and recently in a very courageous act of self-improvement quit her stressful, draining, under-appreciated job in order to strick out anew and find something better.  And I am so proud of her for doing that, because especially in today’s economy that takes a lot of guts and gumption.  So I think I would change her from “currently looking for a job” to “happily employed at a job that excites her, treats her well (we are talking good benefits here folks!), and uses her many incredible skills and gifts”.

5. What’s your favorite memory of being a teenager?

I could probably think of other different ones if I thought about it a bit more.  But what came to me right away was the image of driving around the back country roads of Goshen/Elkhart with 1 – 8 passengers in my parents old manual 1988 van; going to choir concerts, school, parties at a friends house, maybe a sleepover at Becca’s or just random things.  For much of my later high school years I ended up driving people around, often it was my younger brother and his friends, other times it was my girl friends or other random folks, but something about that whole era was just a lot of fun.  Turning up the oldies and singing a long and rather obnoxious levels or seeing just how many bikes/people/etc we could jam in, all of it sticks out in my memory as a high point in life.

Thanks MLE for those great questions, I really enjoyed them!

18 comments

  1. I love your dislike of watching people being embarassed. james calls this same fear his fear of awkwardness. he definitely has to leave the room during zoolander (when ben stiller thinks he’s won an award but has not) and can’t stand meet the parents. 🙂


  2. You’re welcome! Great answers, and thanks for playing along!

    (My answer for the 24 hours question is the Galapagos islands. They’re difficult and expensive to get to, so if I could get to and fro instantly and free, and have a whole day to explore them, that would be awesome!)


  3. Paris is certainly worth it, even for 24 hours, but next time I go there it must be in the springtime.

    Interview me please, if you wish (but you may have a lot of eager respondents!)


  4. Mirabella,
    I would love to interview you! Okay let’s see 5 questions.
    1. What part of Australia do you live in? I mean this in less of a stalkerish what is your address sort of way and more of a what is your town/city like. Do you live near water, mountains, etc?
    2. What led you to pursue a life of academia?
    3. If you had to choose your favorite word or phrase in ancient greek, what would it be?
    4. If you had the ability to write yourself a letter to be read by a younger version of yourself what would you write and what age would you direct it to?
    5. What is your favorite part of the day?


  5. good answers abby! I’d have to say I was in love with the Island in hong kong


  6. would you interview me too, please!


  7. Although I wouldn’t call it a ‘fear’, I actually cringe a bit too much while watching people getting into embarrassing situations… might be my over-empathy working…
    And Paris is definitely beautiful – no need to be in love to enjoy its many wonders!

    Oh, if you are not too busy with your other interviewees, I’d love to get some interesting questions to answer! 😉


  8. […] Posted on Monday, February 2, 2009 by martadc This is a cool meme that I’ve found over at Abby’s: basically, I answer 5 questions Abby has especially concocted for me, and if you so wish, I get to […]


  9. 1. What part of Australia do you live in? I mean this in less of a stalkerish what is your address sort of way and more of a what is your town/city like. Do you live near water, mountains, etc?
    I live in a suburb of a large city located on the southern coast of Australia. My suburb is an hour’s travel from the city centre or the sea, and if I drive 15 minutes in another direction I reach the countryside, where I can see cows, horses and, yes, kangaroos. My suburb is full of native trees which have coped well with our current drought, but the grass is quite sere; and there are two little rivers within walking distance with lots of rabbits bounding around and a variety of birdlife. I hope that’s what you wanted to know…. The shopping centre is pretty good too!
    2. What led you to pursue a life of academia?
    What a flattering question! I have never thought of my career in such terms,although I do work casually at a tertiary institution. One day in Grade 4, when I was 8 years old, I sat down at my desk after lunch and thought: “I’d like to do this forever.” Truly! The other thing that happenned repeatedly was that a lot of wonderful teachers encouraged me at primary & secondary school, at university and in my teaching career. In part, I was just trying to please them too.
    3. If you had to choose your favorite word or phrase in ancient greek, what would it be? Now that’s easy: Thea glaukopis Athene = “the grey-eyed goddess, Athena”. I met her when I was about 9yo in a very abridged translation of “The Odyssey” which I received as a school prize. I admired her as a goddess because she had all the right qualities for a deity: intelligence, resourcefulness and compassion. She was also, though I didn’t realise it then, a serious feminist! Then, last year, when I was finally studying Ancient Greek, I met her in the orginal Homeric Greek, and I experienced that lovely shock of recognition that feels like coming home. (I really love grey-eyed characters in fiction too, like Anne of Green Gables, but they seem rare in real life. Do you know any?)
    4. If you had the ability to write yourself a letter to be read by a younger version of yourself what would you write and what age would you direct it to? I’d tell myself at 22 (that’s when I became a really independent person) how to consider my choices more thoughtfully, and I’d advise myself to read more about politics and science, and to be more responsive to other people’s needs.
    5. What is your favorite part of the day? I’ve always liked the early morning, when the day is so full of promise, excitement and newness. These days I also look forward to Saturday evening which is when I usually telephone a close relative on the other side of the world – but it’s early morning where she is!

    I hope I haven’t sent you to sleep with my explanations.


  10. Mirabella,
    These answers are great, besides now I feel like we all know you just a bit better 🙂 Your home sounds amazing, so close to a city and the sea, lovely! As for gray eyed folks, I have to say I haven’t met very many, but I too loved the Anne of Green Gables series.


  11. if you interview me maybe I’ll blog! 🙂


  12. […] Posted on Tuesday, February 3, 2009 by martadc [If you missed my previous post, this meme started here for me, and question #1 along with instructions is […]


  13. […] 8, 2009 by martadc for those of you wondering where’s the rest of the meme that started here, and which I answered here and here already, just wanted to tell you I haven’t forgotten […]


  14. […] meme – Question #3 Posted on Monday, February 9, 2009 by martadc [I saw this meme here at Abby’s, and here are my questions #1 and […]


  15. Dood, this looks really cool!

    Interview me?

    ~Jax


  16. Interview Me, please.


  17. Jaxibella and Laura Hedgecock, sorry it took me so long to get back to you, however neither of you appear to have links to your individual blogs. Does this mean you would like me to interview you in the comments? If so let me know and I would definitely be willing too!


  18. […] the meme started here, and the previous posts have the other 3 questions & […]



Leave a Reply

