h1

so today was definitely going to suck

October 10, 2008

With three co-workers out for the day, three classes requiring instruction (which I have NEVER done before), and a big vacuum of people who are in charge and can make decisions; I wasn’t exactly thinking today would be a good one.  Plus last night I got a call from one the three subs we had scheduled today and she was sick, so make that 3 absences and only 2 subs.  Throw in bad stomach cramps, complexities of getting one of the subs (a new one) into the bureaucratic nightmare that is the sub policy, and teaching for the first time and I was 100% sure today was going to be not good.

But then something weird happened and I survived, sure the cramps were/are AWFUL and I kinda felt a little crazy for a bit, but I taught students!  I helped them find resources.  I got them to pay attention to me and by the second class (the classes were 1st, 2nd, and 3rd periods), I was actually feeling a bit knowledgeable and actually comfortable with doing all that.  So while I am still indeed counting down the minutes to the end of the day, part of me is really glad that this happened, because I got to experience a bit of what my future career might feel like and you know I think I can do it.

One comment

  1. Congrats on surviving! It’s always a good feeling when you realize that you can actually do something you thought you couldn’t. By the way, the picture from your birthday post ties in perfectly with you counting down the day 🙂



Leave a Reply

