h1

a big almost

September 7, 2008

This afternoon has been a bit of a whirlwind because in the last hour I have seen a car accident happen, called 911 (just for the police, fortunately no one was injured), been a witness to the police and generally been under a bit of stress.  I find it interesting how very frequently I tend to remain very calm in times of crisis (either emotional or physical) and only after the fact react and realize how all my muscles are tense and my breathing shallow.

Now as for the accident itself, I was heading out to pick Erini up from the airport using Becca’s car that was parked in front of the old apartment.  I had checked my mirrors and was pulling out when a car came from behind me at quite a good clip, swerved around me and crashed into a parked car across the street.  The next little while was a bit of blur, but Jess came down right away because she had heard the noise and another friend from church came over because he too had heard the crash.  The driver of car who had swerved appeared shaken, but okay in general.  After a little bit of wondering what to do in this instance, I called 911 and after a long while the police arrived and got the story from all of us.  Fortunately because my car had been far enough out in the road to be “in traffic” it was written up as the other driver’s fault.  Plus he recieved a citation because of the speed he was going.  Which now as I am looking back, I am realized how blessed I was in several ways.  First if I hadn’t been as pulled out as I had been, I could have been found liable for the accident.  Second considering how fast the driver was going and the damage done to the parked car, I could easily be in the hospital right now if he hadn’t swerved.

Basically it is a case of a wrong thing going as good as it could possibly go.  Despite the adrenaline withdraw I have right now, I have to admit that I am feeling rather blessed at the moment.  Plus thanks to what I think is a great example of mother radar, my Mom called me just a little while after the whole thing happened (although she called to talk about something entirely different) and it was really great to have someone to talk too.  And then of course Tim called a little later in the afternoon giving me another chance to talk to someone about the whole thing.  So yes indeed I am a blessed person right now.

5 comments

  1. Wow, I am so glad you’re ok!


  2. I am so glad you are OK! How scary that must have been!

    I am, incidentally, the same way about emergencies (especially other people’s injuries). At the time I am totally calm and able to take charge and it’s only afterward that I realize how scared I am.


  3. I’m glad you’re alright! I backed into my brother’s car once going down the driveway at 2 mph and that was enough to shake me up even though I didn’t even dent his bumper. I can’t imagine how I would feel in a real accident…or being that close to being involved in a real one. Yikes!


  4. yikes! I’m glad you’re ok!


  5. Thanks for all the well wishes guys! I think one of the nicest parts of having a blog is having people rooting for you 🙂



Leave a Reply

