h1

some of my favorite people

June 2, 2008

I figured after that “love” fest and all the oogling of the males I should also include a list of my favorite actors/performers of the female persuasion. So while this list is less of the hubbahubba and more of the gush gush gush (which totally made me think of GusGus from Cinderellie!), I hope it alleviates any of your fears that I am too boy crazy 🙂

UPDATE: Apparently this list ended up taking way more time than I anticipated, considering I started writing it last week. But don’t worry, this doesn’t mean the list will be a profound or particularly well written one 🙂 It has more to do with the fact that I kept flip flopping on my choices.

5. Anya Jenkins aka Emma Caufield – Oh Anya, the fun, sarcastic, terribly direct, ex demon, Xander (who I can’t believe I left off my one true loves list!)loving character who manages to continually annoy her fellow Buffy the Vampire Slayer characters and also endear the audience. Portrayed with brilliant comic timing and a razor sharp wit, Anya even holds her own in the famous musical episode despite her pretty blatant lack of singing talent. But most of all Anya is such a great character because she says the things the everyone is thinking but is too polite to mention.

4. Emma Thompson – I probably saw Emma for the first time in the movie Sense and Sensibility and immediately I fell in love with her careful and exquisite portrayal of a sister so caught up in her responsibilities for others that she can’t allow her self to express her love. And as impressive as her performance in that movie (despite being over a decade too old for the part), I was surprised to learn that she also helped adapt the screenplay and produced the movie. She has played wonderful characters in Love Actually, Harry Potter, Wit, many others and most importantly she was incredible as Beatrice in Kenneth Branagh’s Much Ado About Nothing. Also as a crazy side note, apparently Emma ended up marrying the actor who played Mr. Willoughby, so crazy! See…

I think they make a pretty good looking couple

3. Marketa Irglova – Hopefully by now you have seen the great little gem of a movie from 2007, Once. If you have you know exactly what I mean when I say Marketa is one of my favorite people. Be it her voice, her stage presence or her incredibly articulate acceptance speech at the Oscars, Marketa wows in all catagories. Along with producing such amazing songs as The Hill and If You Want Me, Marketa also gets to snog Glen Hansard and that makes her one lucky gal.

2. Bonnie Hunt – From the first movie I saw her in (Beethoven, the movie based mainly on the fact that St. Benards drool a lot), I always thought Bonnie hunt would make such a fun aunt/older sister. Bonnie bring such a high level of fun and even a knowing wink to her roles. While she hasn’t always chosen the best movies, when she gets one right she hits it out of the park. For example the movie Return to Me (a small rom/com that is several steps above most movies in its genre) succeeds in part because of her brilliant role as the best friend. Also it should be noted that not only did she act in this movie but she directed and wrote it, talk about a busy woman!

plus Bonnie was born in Chicago!

1. CJ Cregg (aka Allison Janney) – Yes citing another character from West Wing is a good indication what my favorite all time TV show is, but seriously folks have you seen it? Because if you haven’t you are really missing out (I think both my parents would agree with me on this one, they watched all 7 seasons too (in fact they finished them before I did)). But enough about the show, who I am really talking about is CJ. She is truly one of the pillars of this show. From her start as a less then confident or politically knowledgeable press secretary, she evolves into a formidable/knowledgeable and completely in control White House Chief of Staff. Yet during all of this she looses none of her humanity, humor or humility. She also holds her own in an almost entirely male driven cast, trading both barbs and in rare cases flirting quips with all the boys. She walks the difficult line, often drawn for women in power, with both determination and grace. Oh and if that isn’t enough she has one of the most infectious and joyful laughs in Hollywood.

not the greatest picture of her, but it is CJ, so that is enough

Leave a Reply

