h1

finally some news

April 26, 2008

So I eagerly opened my mail box friday afternoon after work (as I have done for the past week) and low and behold there was the long awaited letter from the U of I library school. I opened it and there like I had been thinking was the dreaded rejection letter. For those of you who don’t know I applied to two library science schools this spring. Of the two, one was an inexpensive (comparatively), better rated program that would allow me to take classes online, while the other one was a good program, but more expensive and would mean commuting 2 hours round trip to take night classes. As you probably guessed I didn’t get into the first one, which is obviously a disappointment. But I guess part of almost expected this. Honestly there haven’t been a lot of things in my life academia wise that I have gotten rejected by, with the exception of one college scholarship. I have had a good share of opportunities to study abroad, to take the classes I wanted to take, to get the research grants I wanted. Essentially I was probably due for a good ol’ rejection letter, but of course that doesn’t make me less disappointed.

However the good news is right after opening (the rather dry and harsh, at least to my millennial-need-lots-of-reassurance ears) rejection letter I walked into the kitchen. On the shelf under the kitchen window was one of our 4 trays of soon to be seedlings for our back porch herb garden. And there in the morning glory section were a trio sprouts.

Soon these are gonna be great viney things with blue flowers

Now I have done gardening things before, I get the whole putting things in soil and watching the seeds sprouts. But I have never before started my own (although rather limited) gardening experience and seen the direct results. So seeing these little morning glory sprouts reminded me (in a totally cliche way) that life goes on. And maybe despite my disappointment, going to DU is where God wants me to be going. Who knows the path my life will take as I work my way through my library degree and while I will never be able to know what lay down the path of U of I, I am confident that good things will come of this experience.

4 comments

  1. I’m sorry to hear that Abby 😦 They don’t know what they’re missing. DU, though, is a great school, and I’m sure you’ll do wonderfully! I had nothing to do with this whatsoever, but I’m still proud of you 🙂

    Good luck on your garden! May it grow and be fruitful!


  2. thanks, Mer!


  3. I seriously considered library school for a while. Good luck!

    And enjoy your garden! We’re still a few weeks away from being able to plant ours. We can get frosts/snow through mid-May, and it’s really disappointing to start a garden and then have to start it over again.


  4. Congratulations, Abby! That’s exciting (grad school AND the new sprouts. 🙂



Leave a Reply

