h1

Cauliflower, Chickpea and Couscous Curry

March 6, 2008

Sometimes I like to day dream that this is actually a food blog (like the amazing Smitten Kitchen or Domestic Goddess), but then I remember that I am not so hot at taking pictures of food, I don’t have good lighting in my kitchen, and my recipes rarely include measured amounts of anything. But rarely do I let things such as these stop me from posting, therefore I give you my best attempt at what I made for dinner last night.

1 head cauliflower
1 can chickpeas
1 small can mushrooms
1 can diced tomatoes
1 small onion, diced
2 cups water (divided)
1 cup chicken broth
1 1/2 cups frozen green peas
2 Tbsp curry
2 Tbsp turmeric
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 teas ground pepper
2 teas salt
1 cup couscous

Chop the cauliflower (not actually spelled cautiflower like I originally thought) into small florets. Place the cauliflower into a saucepan (use a large one because everything will end up in this pot) and pour one cup water and the chicken broth over it (or if you are me pour 2 cups of water and throw a bouillon cube in for good measure as an afterthought). Now let this cook for 5ish minutes or until the water is boiling and the cauliflower seems headed towards tender.

In a different pan fry up the onions in a little olive oil and and add the canned mushrooms. When they are done add to the cauliflower. Next open up the cans of chickpeas and tomatoes and add to the cauliflower mixture. Open a bag of frozen green peas from the freezer and toss some in. Now start adding spices. I generally use a color scheme when deciding what to add to a dish. I started with curry, because duh, curry goes in curry dishes. Then I picked out turmeric and cinnamon because they complimented the color of the curry. I think cumin would also have been a nice touch.

After letting all of this cook for a bit, add some more water and bring to a simmer. Then stir in couscous and let cook for an addition 5-7 minutes, make sure you stir and try to get the couscous to absorb the water. Now taste test and re-evaluate your seasonings, you will probably want to add more of everything except the cinnamon. Finally take of the heat put in a nice serving dish and make your roommates eat with you at the coffee table because you are too lazy to clear the dining one. Serve with yogurt, peanuts, raisins and if you are very odd, like me, shredded cheddar cheese.

5 comments

  1. Heh, coincidentally I also made a cauliflower curry last night. 🙂 No chickpeas or couscous though, so I’ll have to try your version.

    No dish of yours would be complete without the shredded cheese, eh 🙂


  2. oddly enough, i made a curried green split pea soup with cauliflower in it last night, too? coincidence, or a government conspiracy to make eat cauliflower? i wonder…


  3. and guess what I had at a dinner party I attended last night, you guessed it, cauliflower casserole, there must indeed be something going on.


  4. Have you ever made cauliflower crack (tm my friend Monkey)?

    It’s fabulous, and unlike any other cauliflower dish I’ve ever had.

    Cut a head of cauliflower into florets, then thinly slice each floret to get a cross section (about 1/4 inch thick or so). Make sure you keep all the crumbly bits, too. Put in a bowl, add a glug or two of olive oil, fresh pepper, a little (not too much!) salt, and anything else you’d like to use to season it (I frequently use any number of curry powders, other seasoning mixes, etc.). Toss it around to coat it evenly. Spread it out thinly on a baking sheet and bake at 425F for 20-40 minutes depending on how fast your oven cooks and how crispy you like it. SO GOOD. It cooks down a lot, so one head feeds two people as a side dish, or one person if they want to keep all the crack for themselves!


  5. MLE – That sounds amazing! I will totally have to try that next time I get some cauliflower.



Leave a Reply

