h1

an ode to Netflix

February 5, 2008

Some time last year, Steph persuaded my roommates and I to get ourselves a Netflix account. And I have been really loving it ever since then. It helps that we have a drop-off place for mail right in the main office at work and either we live in a magical close to all distribution centers bubble or Netflix offers great service everywhere. I mean my turn around from return disc to new one is usually 2 days! For example I mail a disc Monday, it gets there Tuesday, they ship a new disc out the same day and wallah! new movie in my mail Wednesday.

All this to say that I just had to show you all this movie summary that popped up in my recommended section (probably due to my recent interest in 1970s romantic comedies):

I kinda want to add this movie to my queue...“Philo Beddoe (Clint Eastwood) is an easygoing trucker and a great fist-fighter. With two friends — Orville, who promotes prizefights for him, and Clyde, the orangutan he won on a bet — he roams the San Fernando Valley in search of cold beer, country music and the occasional punch-up. When Philo falls hard for sexy country singer Lynn Halsey-Taylor (Sondra Locke), he sets out to win her over.” Every Which Way But Loose

I think the really key part of this lies in the way trucker/fist-fighter and orangutan are so easily thrown together. Why of course, I mean, why wouldn’t Clint Eastwood carry around a monkey with him as he romances a sexy country singer?

2 comments

  1. this is so funny. I went to see this movie when it was released and thought it was really dumb, but I can see now I will have to give it another go. If only for its absurdity.


  2. We should totally get that movie!



Leave a Reply

