h1

seaQuest DSV

October 31, 2007

What do giant submarines, people in jumpsuits, peacekeeping forces and one of my first TV show memories have in common? You guessed it seaQuest DSV! Airing back in the mid 1990s, this show was essentially Star Trek under water, each episode the crew would have to figure out some tricky situation, or fight off some impending disaster. My little 12 year old self ate this show right up, which is actually somewhat surprising considering this was still in the early days of our parents weary agreement to let us watch mainstream television. Although of course shows such as Simpsons, Full House, Friends etc were still considered too risque, for some reason I was allowed to watch seaQuest, and in fact I think others in the family joined me. I think it helped that after every episode a real life oceanographer would come on and tell us about some new technology or little know fact that related to how Capt. Bridger or boy genius Lucas had been able to save the day. Therefore the show feel into that lovely niche of educational.

The years passed and I quickly forgot about seaQuest* and became obsessed with other shows and then went off to college and forgot about a lot of television. Then yesterday while browsing and obsessing over my newly minted very own Netflix queue, I remembered it. After frantically googling for “ocean ship like star trek” and “90’s tv show about submarine” I finally found it seaQuest DSV. And then to my even greater joy, Netflix has it! So right after I finish watching Battlestar Gallactica (I am fully aware of my dorkiness level, have no fear), a few other movies, and Project Runway I will be heading down memory lane right into seaQuest.

* Although for some reason I distinctly remembered an episode in which a crew member was caught eating a burger and was punished for it. Apparently this was a big deal because in the near future (2010 I do believe) cows had been outlawed because of the high amount of Methane gas they gave off! See how educational this show was, people!

5 comments

  1. And you can’t forget the talking Dolphin, Darwin.
    I seriously loved that show too.

    Let me know when you get it, ’cause I’d definitely be up for reliving my childhood tv glory and whatnot.


  2. I loved this show and watched it all the time. And I had a huge Jonathan Brandis poster on my wall. Man….I haven’t thought about this show since I heard that Brandis died a few years ago. Thanks for the memory:)


  3. i will never forget you jon:)i still have all your photos and films:)yu are always in my heart:)I miss yu so…yours annie


  4. My boss’ wife’s brother is married to Stacy Haiduk. He was able to get me an autographed headshot!


  5. I am so glad that other people were nerdy enough to love this show 🙂
    alburn – good work on the headshot
    nicole – sigh… Brandis posters 🙂



Leave a Reply

