h1

so like totally I’m back!

August 12, 2007

Basically I just wanted an excuse to announce to the world (all 4.5 of you that still read this thing) that I am back in the states, back from Egypt, back from England, back from South Africa and Italy and most recently back from a week long trip to Oregon. But more importantly today while hanging about the city with my two awesome brothers I managed to catch a glimpse of both of the major films being shot in Chicago right now. The first is Wanted, which is opening next year and stars Morgan Freeman, Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy. And of those three I happened to glimpse the important one, yes that is Mr. McAvoy himself and the reason that I know it was him despite the relatively short time I saw the set (we were on a bus going south on Clark St.) was that I totally recognized who he was without any prior knowledge that he was even in town (my brothers can totally attest to that).

But the really cool part was when we were down in the loop and trying to cross north over the river. It turns out they were filming a helicopter sequence low over the chicago river. So despite being told we had to go away, we were able to watch the helicopters fly low over the river (I could see the stuntmen inside quite clearly) several times as they made their takes. So next summer when we go see The Dark Knight (Batman Begins sequel) I am totally going to be watching for that shot.

Okay I promise to return to normal none movie struck behavior tomorrow and maybe even tell you about Oregon. Lots of love and goodnight!

3 comments

  1. you saw mr.mcavoy?! mmmmmmmmmm.


  2. Mennogirl, I’m delighted you are happily back from your grand tour, that my friend, Bindinestor, is home from Europe, and that my own daughter is back from Italy. (Well, she’s back in England which is where she is actually living.) I’m sure that there are more than 4.5 readers – after all, my cats and I alone add up to three! What are your plans for the next academic year?


  3. […] this encounter was pre-planned because as I wrote about here, these kind of random Chicago encounters always happen in […]



Leave a Reply

