h1

weekend update with “jimmy fallon”

May 29, 2007

Obviously by “jimmy fallon” I meant nothing of the sorts, but now that I tricked you with my oh so clever title of choice here is a refresher on my weekend.

But first before we get too deeply into it, you all should go check out this post by Defective Yeti, in which he gives into the peer pressure of thousands of internet bots and makes a LOL cat.  This is one of the many things I found amusing this weekend.

Friday

A good day, or at least it was the last work day before a 3-day weekend, so there was little whining on my part.  The highlight of this day was watching the movie History Boys based on the same titled playby Alan Bennett.  I heard about the play because it was playing in London when I visited with my family in December of 2005, however we didn’t get a chance to see it then.  I was quite impressed with the film and it came across as very theatrical.  It was easy to make guesses as to how scenes were originally handled on stage.  But at the root of the movie was the question of how do we approach history and how do we approach truth, is knowledge less impressive when it is the generally agreed upon.  Do alternate ideas gain in importance the more radical they become?

Saturday

Anticipating the arrival of our good friend Luc from GC days, Jess and I attempted a cleaning of the apartment and various other preperations.  After his arrival in the late afternoon we caught the Purple line up to Giordano’s Pizza and stopped by Becca’s place of work to bug her and make faces in the glass (this is only because we are very old and mature).  Then we triumphantly returned to our apartment to watch the tasteful and supremely well made Talladega Nights.  Rarely does one come across a movie that so faithfully blends together the richness of male-bonding, the energy of racing, and the beautiful cinemotography that was this movie.  From the opening birth in a racing car to the pan-out before the credits, I was constantly impressed with the thoughtfulness and skillful craft that went into this gem of a movie.

Sunday

A beautiful day that started off with a little bit of rain, this day involved some church followed by several hours of packing with Tim.  Attempting to prepare for a Memorial day move, I went over to my brother’s house to help him try to fit all his worldly possessions into boxes.  While there I heard Kent for the first time and was suitably impressed (Tim pointed out how their lyrics sound vaguely like languages from Lord of the Rings because of that whole singing in Swedish thing, I had to agree).  I also packed several of these things.

Moving Boxes

Monday

Our apartment attended the annual Reba Place potluck and bbq which was a lot of fun.  Not only was there a rousing game of ultimate frisbee, but good conversations, yummy burgers, amish made pecan pie, and lazy afternoon sun time (which of course registered on my face in a nice shade of pink because I am a) pasty white b) forgetful of the sunscreen.  This was by far the highlight of the day, after which I decided that I was tired and didn’t feel like doing anything else.  Despite this I managed to go with Steph first to pick up her prescription (she is sick right now with Strep!), then to do grocery shopping and also to pick up another movie, because obviously we don’t watch enough of those around here.  The movie we got was Night At the Museum (I can’t be bothered to look up whether the title is actually At or In) in which the only highlights were the little people (played by Owen Wilson and another guy) and Dick Van Dyck playing the villian.

One comment

  1. Hey, long time no blog comment! How’s life? I forget how long until you take off for the big world tour…

    I got back from Europe last Thursday (yeah I know I need to blog about it…darned jet lag keeps making me tired though) and am now into summer mode. Which means basically working. Heh. I had probably better visit the library, and soon.



Leave a Reply

