h1

Updated reading list

May 24, 2007

Maybe I should find a way to make this its own section, but here again is a list of books I want to read in the upcoming months:

The Size of the World by Jeff Greenwald – the most recent addition to this list, I just heard about this book through a recommendation from the Evanston Public Library site, essentially a man on a trip around the world with the goal of never leaving the surface (i.e. no planes)

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson – I actually have already read a few chapters in this one because my Dad had it checked out of the library when I was home last month. I was immediately sucked in, Bryson’s writing and directness makes even the really mind-boggling stuff readable.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini – given to me by Megan, this book has been on my radar for a while now and from what I have heard is worth reading even if the book does read a little bit like it was written by a 15 year old.

The Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkien – this one should be obvious if you know me at all, I mean considering I have read the Lord of the Rings countless times, a “new” story from Tolkien has to be on the list.

Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight by Alexandra Fuller – another used bookstore find from Seattle, this one caught my eye with the Africa connection (continent which houses two of the three countries I am visiting this summer) and I had previously picked up another book by Fuller that looked really good.

44 Scotland Street by Alexander McCall Smith – I first discovered McCall Smith through his No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency mysteries which I loved, so when I discovered he had written some books set in Edinburgh (another stop in this summer’s adventures) I knew I had to read it.

PS. Numbers 1, 3, and 6 still apply from this list

Leave a Reply

