h1

post weekend sunniness

April 23, 2007

This weekend was a lovely preview of what summers in Chicago can be (minus bugs, humidity and 90 degree temperatures); sunny, breezy and full of things to do.  I kicked off the weekend by seeing Andrew Bird perform live at the Riviera Theatre with my cousin Emily.  It was a lot of fun, both to catch up with her and to hear some amazing live music.  Although once again I was struck my how much I don’t fit the norms of most twenty-somethings.  First of all by the end of the over 3 hours of music I listened too, I was ready to have my ribs stop vibrating.  I was also ready to stop standing and I was also ready to go to bed.  I wasn’t in the mood to continue the evening at a club with some dancing and I also wasn’t interested in grabbing a drink.  What can I say, I really am a complete old foggie.

Me and Charletta down at the beach

Then on Saturday I hung with the T & C, walked down to the lake, told Tim to take some pictures of an old tennis ball, and went to the local Co-Op to get some dry goods.  Then Becca and I did some long over due clothes washing and all 4 of us went out to eat at a local Thai resturant.  But the best part of the day was a pre-wedding shower thing thrown by T & C for the lovely J & C down in Roger’s Park.  There was wine, there was cheese, there was hummus and did I mention there was cheese?  Um just in case you don’t know cheese is pretty much my favorite food and I think it’s genetic, cause Tim likes cheese even more than he likes mustard.  Anyways the event was a lot of fun:Phil and David were both there, Anna G from China SST, and another GC grad Matt B.  So it was a lot of fun to catch up with people.  Oh and apparently it was news for some of them that Tim and I are siblings.  I never really figured out how it was that some people just seemed to know that and others didn’t at all.  I mean we did only overlap for 1 year at GC, so its very understandable that people didn’t know.  I guess I always find the whole thing amusing.

Following inevitably after Saturday came Sunday which was another day of pseudo summer weather.  So in order to celebrate, my roomies and I went to church (which was a really wonderful service, for a variety of reasons) and then went up to Chicago Botanic Garden.  Unfortunately the whole little trick that also finally allowed Becca’s pictures to get uploaded onto a computer, also lead to the forgetting to replace the memory card.  So there will be no pictures from this weekend’s trip.  Obviously this was also beautiful and helped wrap up my lovely, sunny weekend.

PS. Maybe tonight after potluck I will post a few pictures here from all the things I haven’t been able to post for a while (i.e. Seattle, walk to lake, apartment weirdness)

5 comments

  1. So how did the photos of the old tennis ball turn out?


  2. […] April 22, 2008 in books/movies/music, city moments, snapshot of the moment Last night I got to see one of the best large venue concerts (it should be noted that the number of such concerts attended by me can be counted on one hand) I have ever seen. The brain child of the lovely Kate and Anali, who wanted to find a fun concert to attend in April (their shared birthday month), we started the evening off with a pasta supper at the Treehouse before running (literally) to try to catch the train. After catching the last train of the evening we got to the theater and found pretty nice seats in the balcony. While we could have been closer, I was not willing to stand for 3 hours through another concert. […]


  3. Hi friends, how is the whole thing, and what you want to say regarding this piece of writing, in my
    view its genuinely remarkable designed for me.


  4. There is no denying the fact that purchasing a car can be a
    nerve-wracking, stress-filled experience. Before you make a decision and spend a great amount of
    money on a vehicle, it pays to acquire a bit of knowledge on the subject.
    Keep the tips that follow close at hand, and you will have what it takes to make an optimal decision.


  5. What’s up mates, fastidious article and nice arguments commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by these.



Leave a Reply

