h1

5 weird things I do

April 13, 2007

Bindi over at Epossums made a list of her own obsessions recently, and as exemplified many times in this blog, I try not to have original ideas.  So here in no specific order is a list of my current obsessions:

1. Check my online banking 5-10 times a day.  I don’t entirely know why I do this, maybe it has something to do with the fact that I don’t actually balance my checkbook, or maybe I just can’t remember how much money I have, who knows but its my 6th ranked favorite on my “Favorite Site” list

2. Organize things alphabetically.  Thankfully I can say that I generally reserve this for items that work well in this order (i.e. cds, dvds, etc), but the weird thing is I have never bothered to alphabetize my own book collection.  I think this is because I could never decide between author order or title order.

3. Play Sudoko in Diablo mode (but with the penciled in possibilities setting on).  This one clearly places me in the deep end.  First of all, this all started when I discovered the Sudoko widget for my dashboard (MacBooks rock!).  I played for a while on Easy, moved eventually to Medium.  Then in a fit of hubris I tried Diablo, crazy man!  I got stuck repeatedly until I found this lovely little thing that shows all the possibilities for each block and now I am hooked.  I know this makes me both a nerd and a cheater, but I have found this to be the perfect zen activity in that it requires brain effort, but only enough to block out wandering thoughts.

4. Think about Carbs. Don’t ask!

5. Yearn for a real spring.  If you live in Chicago right now, you can probably understand this one, but in case you don’t.  Snow in April, people, snow in April!

4 comments

  1. hi mennogirl, I had a giggle over this post. Your list is very individual. There is humour in idiosyncracity (is that a word?).


  2. Since you are now a librarian I will be disappointed if you organize your books in any order other than alphabetical by author for the fiction and by Dewey decimal or LOC number for the nonfiction. 😉


  3. I used to live in Chicago, but the place I moved to had snow in the last couple of days and will probably snow next week as well. I definitely don’t think it was as crazy as it is right now. Easter felt like Christmas…


  4. Online Banking Checking is certainly an addiction I share. It’s even more fun since David and I share an account. So sometimes I’ll check it in the afternoon and see that he went out for lunch rather than taking a lunch like I have to every day. Then that night, I’ll be like, “So David, how was your chinese food from WOK’S UP for $6.78?!

    Not that we’re like that about money. But when it’s tight…you know.



Leave a Reply

