h1

finding interesting things

February 21, 2007

While I haven’t ever dealt with clinical depression, I do think I have experienced mild forms of it. So I have always been fascinated by the idea of it and tried to wrap my head around the idea that your brains chemicals can trick you into believing false things about your life. For a long time, I really disliked the idea of taking medication to “fix” your brain, I didn’t understand how doctors could really diagnois which chemical was imbalanced and how the guess work of getting to a good place could be healthy for a person. But through seeing some of my friends deal with depression and taking medication, plus in all honesty reading the blogs of people who have suffered and survived depression, I have changed my mind about medication. While I will never understand it (obviously I am not a doctor), I can’t help but see the huge difference it can make in people’s lives.

What sparked this little post (seriously I promise last one of the night) was reading an entry by RLP (Real Live Preacher) in which he reflects on his struggle with depressiong and two year recovery through medication.

Jung said it this way: If you do not come to terms with your shadow side, the opposite of your strengths, you will be ruled by that shadow side. I believe that now. In my case, all of my unexplored feelings were sucked into a vortex of anger. Of course, I was too sophisticated to let my anger out in healthy ways. So I ate my anger. I ate it dry. It was like swallowing unshelled peanuts. It did not sit well in my gut.

Go read the rest of his really well written post.

One comment

  1. […] the serialized history of a church May 14, 2009 I am pretty sure I have talked before about Real Live Preacher (Gorden Atkinson), I know I made Becca and Jess listen to me read aloud […]



Leave a Reply

