h1

turkey (really should be called mashed potatoes) day

November 23, 2006

So our apartment pulled off our first thanksgiving meal, granted we haven’t gotten to the pie yet, but we fed everyone and didn’t burn our turkey and mashed our 20lbs of potatoes in a metal bowl in our sink. Which leads well into our big lesson of the day, in which we reflect on how 2 potatoes per person may be a slightly unrealistic estimate for thankgiving dinner. Sitting on our table now amid a few containers of leftover stuffing, veges, etc are 7 1/2 containers of mashed potatoes. Yes sir, we will be using the stuff up until christmas. But on the bright side this means lots of mashed potato pancakes and shephard’s pie!

Mainly I am excited because both my brother’s are here and my cousin Ben and lots of good people. Last evening the boys arrived by train and then Char, Tim, Celeste and Josiah all came over and we had pizza, apple salad, Jonathan’s homemade hard apple cider and mudslides. Then some of us watched Chicken Run until we got too tired. I must say I love family, immediate, extended, in-law, it doesn’t matter I love it all. Maybe it’s because I am freakishly lucky and don’t have any screwed up relatives (or more screwed up than normal), but I have always loved any opportunity to hang out with those people who have a fraction of the same blood as I do.

So yes today is good, the sun is shining, the dishes are almost done, the turkey has been scraped off the bone, the pies have been baked and my stomach is full. Plus this morning I knew it was going to be a good day when the kitty made the brave and energy-demanding leap up onto my bed, after I called her. There is nothing like a purring cat to make one realize that life is good.

3 comments

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! Glad all went well. Just for the record, there is no such thing as mashed potatoes. They are one of the best foods ever. Enjoy!


  2. and by that last comment, I meant that there is no such thing as “too many” mashed potatoes. whoops!


  3. Oh yes there is such thing as too many mashed potatoes!! When it takes 4 pots to cook them all, and the majority of your fridge space to store them, it’s just too many. Lesson learned.



Leave a Reply

